Dieses Bild zeigt

Institute for Principles of Modern Architecture (Design and Theory)

Research and teaching at IGmA deals with the relationship between architecture (theory), economics, politics and society.

Since its founding in 1967, IGmA has applied a context-based reflection as a teaching method for students in the fields of architecture, theory, politics, economics and society - and since then has influenced not only the thinking of many theoreticians, but also the design approach of countless architects.

Since 01 April 2018 Prof. Dr. Stephan Trüby is in charge of IGmA. With his new team, he continues the tradition of the institute and determines new research directions such as the economics and politics of architecture as well as elements and synthesis of architectural space

Architecture and Cultural Theory

Architecture is perhaps the most complex cultural technique humanity has produced. Nowhere else - neither in literature nor in the theater or in the fine arts - are economic, technical, scientific, artistic, legal, media, religious and political interests as integral as in the case of building and architectural planning.

Even a glance at the history of architecture shows that buildings are also to be seen in the context of cultural (national, regional etc.) differences as well as in the context of transmission processes. They are the result of cultural evolution, which can’t be traced back to distinct individuals (heroes of architectural history, etc.), and owe their existence to a complex mix of economic, political, material and stylistic factors, traditions, craftsmanship rules, software frameworks, etc.

All of this is on the agenda of an architectural theory understood as cultural theory that does not want to indulge in subjectivist illusions. At the same time, architectural theory - as well as subject-oriented design theory - is not only interested in what happened in the past and what is happening right now, but also how things should be; and this not only in the sense of desirable artifacts, but also in the sense of a desirable society.

News

23. November - 9. December 2018

Exhibition “IGmAde: 50+ Years of Architecture, Theory & Poiesis” at the Württembergischer Kunstverein.

22-24. November 2018

International Conference "IGmAde: 50+ Years of Architecture, Theory & Poiesis” at the University of Stuttgart and the Württembergischer Kunstverein.

22. November 2018

Prof. Trüby´s Inaugural Lecture will take place at 6pm in the Tiefenhörsaal 17.01.

27. October 2018

Prof. Trüby discusses the topic "Right-wing Spaces" at the Berliner Volksbühne.

26. October 2018

Prof. Trüby interviewed by the Stuttgarter Zeitung.

17. October 2018

Prof. Trüby in the Portrait section of the Kontext:Wochenzeitung.

15. October 2018

New courses at IGmA for the winter semester 2018/19.

6. October 2018

The Observer (London) reports on reconstruction in architecture in Germany and Prof. Trüby.

25. September 2018

Prof. Trüby moderates a panel discussion on the topic "Everyone is talking about building culture" in the St. Maria church in Stuttgart.

21. September 2018

Prof. Trüby represented with text in the exhibition catalogue Die immer neue Altstadt.

20. September 2018

Prof. Trüby gives keynote lecture at Tirana Architecture Week (TAW).

14. September 2018

The Rem Koolhaas-book Elements of Architecture, written amongst with the participation of Prof. Trüby, has been published.

Contact

Dieses Bild zeigt Trüby
Univ.-Prof. Dr. phil.

Stephan Trüby

Director

Institut für Grundlagen moderner Architektur und Entwerfen (IGmA)

Forschung und Lehre des IGmA beschäftigen sich mit dem Verhältnis von Architektur(-theorie), Ökonomie, Politik und Gesellschaft.

Seit seiner Gründung im Jahre 1967 schult das IGmA die kontextuelle Reflexion von Studierenden in den Bereichen Architektur, Theorie, Politik, Ökonomie sowie Gesellschaft – und hat damit seither nicht nur das Denken vieler Theoretiker*innen, sondern auch das Entwurfsverständnis zahlloser Architekt*innen und geprägt.

Das Institut leitet seit 1. April 2018 Prof. Dr. Stephan Trüby. Mit seinem neuen Team führt er die Tradition des Instituts fort und setzt neue Schwerpunkte durch seine Forschungsbereiche: die Ökonomie und Politik der Architektur sowie Elemente und Synthesen des architektonischen Raumes.

Architektur und Kultur(-Theorie)

Architektur ist die vielleicht komplexeste Kulturtechnik, die die Menschheit hervorgebracht hat. Nirgendwo sonst – weder in der Literatur noch im Theater noch in den Bildenden Künsten etc. – fallen wirtschaftliche, technisch-wissenschaftliche, künstlerische, rechtliche, mediale, religiöse und politische Interessen so ineins wie beim Bauen und Planen für’s Bauen.

Bereits ein flüchtiger Blick auf die Architekturgeschichte zeigt: Gebäude sind ebenso im Kontext kultureller (nationaler, regionaler etc.) Differenzen wie im Kontext von Transmissionsprozessen zu sehen. Sie sind Resultate kultureller Evolution, die sich zumeist kaum auf distinkte Einzelfiguren (Heroen der Architekturgeschichte etc.) zurückführen lassen – und verdanken sich einer komplexen Gemengelage aus ökonomischen, politischen, materiellen und stilistischen Faktoren, aus Traditionen, Handwerkerregeln, Software-Rahmenbedingungen etc.

Dies alles steht als analytische, mithin evolutionstheoretische Aufgabe auf der Agenda einer als Kulturtheorie verstandenen Architekturtheorie, die sich nicht subjektivistischen Illusionen hingeben will. Gleichzeitig hat sich Architekturtheorie – als durchaus auch Subjekt-orientierte Designtheorie – nicht nur dafür zu interessieren, was war und was ist, sondern auch, was sein soll; und dies nicht nur im engeren Sinne von wünschbaren Artefakten, sondern auch im Sinne einer wünschbaren Gesellschaft.

NEWS

7.–8. September 2019

Prof. Trüby und Philipp Krüpe veranstalten im Frankfurter Künstlerhaus Mousonturm Symposium und Walk zum Thema “Rechte Räume in Frankfurt”.

26. August – 6. September 2019

Das IGmA ist zwischen dem 26. August und dem 6. September 2019 geschlossen.

29. Juli – 9. August 2019

Das IGmA ist zwischen dem 29. Juli und dem 9. August 2019 geschlossen.

18. Juli 2019

Das IGmA präsentiert im Württembergischen Kunstverein seine ARCH+ 235 “Rechte Räume”.

18. Juli 2019

IGmA Day mit Ausstellungseröffnung, Entwurfspräsentationen sowie dem ARCH+ features “Rechte Räume”.

16. Juli 2019

Prof. Trüby hält an der HfBK Dresden Vortrag zum Thema “Rechte Räume”.

10. Juli 2019

Prof. Trüby hält an der Universität Stuttgart Vortrag zum Thema “Modern – Postmodern – Altermodern”.

5. Juli 2019

Jahresfest der Fakultät Architektur und Stadtplanungmit Festvortrag von Prof. Dr. Philip Ursprung (ETH Zürich).

1. Juli 2019

S.T.o.A – Stuttgart Talks on Architecture: Neue IGmA-Veranstaltungsreihe startet mit Vortrag von Prof. Dr. Philip Ursprung (ETH Zürich).

26. Juni 2019

Archinect.com berichtet über Prof. Trüby.

25. Juni 2019

Il Giornale dell’Architettura berichtet über die ARCH+ 235 “Rechte Räume”des IGmA.

20. Juni 2019

Die NZZ berichtet über die ARCH+ 235 “Rechte Räume”des IGmA.

Kontakt

 

Institut für Grundlagen moderner Architektur und Entwerfen (IGmA)

Keplerstrasse 11, D- 70174 Stuttgart, Campus Stadtmitte


Zum Seitenanfang